Chakras Explained — Chakras for Beginners

What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “cycle.” Chakras are energy centers in the body that correspond to different areas and affect our emotional and physical wellbeing.

There are seven main chakras in the body, though a lot of energy workers and healers will tell us that there are twelve chakras. We can connect them to astrology, crystals, clans and to the colours of the rainbow.

Cultures from all around the world, not just India, have identified that these energy centers in our bodies can be balanced and aligned to allow for complete energetic harmony of the body, mind and spirit.

What Are the 7 Chakras in Our Body?

Starting from the top, these are the seven chakras and their meanings:

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the energy center that is basically at the top of the head on the crown. This chakra is known to connect us to the spirit realm, our higher self, higher purpose or consciousness. It is usually related to bliss, oneness, spirituality, beliefs and understanding.

When balanced, we will experience feelings of universal love and feel a strong connection to spirit. We can feel aware, wise and have an understanding of our spirituality and our place in the world.

If our crown chakra is unbalanced or overactive, we will be dogmatic in our ideas, very judgmental and can also feel ungrounded.

If blocked, we might feel depressed. we may feel lost when it comes to spirituality and unable to find a connection with spirit. It could also present as learning disabilities or brain fog because this is a chakra of the mind.

Third Eye Chakra

This is one of the most “popular” chakras when it comes to learning about chakras because of the possibilities of third eye opening or third eye awakening. The third eye chakra is situated in the middle of our forehead slightly above the eyebrows. It symbolizes intuition, our abilities to manifest, psychic abilities, inner wisdom, visualization and clarity. 

When balanced, we can have experiences of visions beyond the physical realm, we may be really in tune with our intuition, and we feel imaginative and creative.

If our third eye chakra is blocked, we might feel that we cannot hear our intuition, guidance or inner thoughts. We may also have a poor imagination or a sense of no creativity.

If unbalanced, it may lead to a lack of clarity or a feeling of being stuck, and if overactive (in very rare cases) it can present with symptoms of delusions, hallucinations, or nightmares.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra, situated in the throat area is the chakra for communication and the ability to connect our listening abilities.

When balanced, we feel like we have clear communication, we feel confident and have no issue expressing ourselves in a way people will understand. We can also have good leadership skills and express our thoughts in a creative way.

If our throat chakra is blocked, then we may have issues expressing ourselves or communicating clearly with people and end up having a lot of arguments or misunderstandings.

If unbalanced or overactive, we may be a loud person, opinionated and gossipy. It can be someone who talks over others, using harsh words or curse words. This happens when the use of the communication gift is used for negative energy.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is situated over our hearts and is the chakra of love.

When balanced, we experience feelings of unconditional love, we feel at peace, we are compassionate, receptive, grateful and forgiven. We have meaningful relationships.

If our heart chakra is blocked, we may feel a little bitter or hateful. We may have trust issues and lack empathy. Or we may just be intolerant when it comes to relationships, love or connections and don’t have great relationships.

If unbalanced or overactive, we might be very codependent, end up sacrificing ourselves a lot, or be very attached to our relationship and unable to find our independence. We are basically giving too much and as a result, we may have feelings of jealousy.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located in our stomach area. It represents our personal power and self-esteem.

When balanced, it means we have drive and confidence. We have a great self-image, feel like we are in control and have a sense of purpose.

If our solar plexus chakra is blocked or unbalanced, we may have feelings of low self-esteem, feeling powerless, submissive and have an inferiority complex. We can feel that the world is against us or we just can’t move forward.

If overactive, we could be very dominating, a perfectionist, power-hungry, critical, or judgemental.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located just below our navel around the lumbar spine and is the chakra identified with sexuality, pleasure, passion and creativity.

When balanced, we will experience joy, pleasure, creative expression, freedom in our sexuality, nurturing, procreation and deep emotions like passion and optimism.

If our sacral chakra is blocked, we may experience low libido or a sex life that isn’t working out. Also, if we are feeling very isolated and lonely, that can affect our sacral chakra in a negative way.

If overactive, we may be overemotional, a sex addict, manipulative, etc. The total opposite of being passionate and having beautiful emotions.

Root Chakra

The root chakra, also known as the base chakra, is located in our pelvic area and is connected to our feelings of security, survival and feeling grounded. It is important to balance this one to have the six others balanced.

When balanced, we feel grounded, safe, secure, firm in our place in life, centered and just happy to be alive.

If our root chakra is blocked, we might feel unstable, anxious, fearful, experience financial instability, or simply feel ungrounded.

If overactive, we may be very materialistic, greedy, have a lust for money and power, or feeling aggressive. We could feel some of the same insecurities as we feel when we are not grounded but with the result of needing material things and more money without having healthy intentions behind them.

Balancing the Chakras

When our seven main chakras are balanced, prana, or energy is allowed to flow freely and this results in our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing. We will feel a great sense of calm and harmony in our lives.

To find out how to balance your chakras, read: How to Balance Your Chakras at Home.


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *